Modding an Austin ATC 250

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by Zettemusik, Aug 25, 2020.

Is the Austin ATC 200/250 worth upgrading?

1. Yes

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. No

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Yes but do not spend more than $100

100.0%
  1. Zettemusik

Zettemusik TDPRI Member

Hello, I am new to electric guitars and got me an Austin ATC 250 for 90 Eur (around $ 100). Quite a bargain as it feels solid and nice but I would like to improve it to get better sound. I feel it lacks sustain especially in the high strings (it is maybe my lousy playing) and that the neck pickup is not clear enough.

One thing I did was change strings and it improved quite a lot but I feel the sound, especially from the neck could be more clear and Vintage at the same time.

Some mods I am thinking of:
    - replace the nut with a Graph Tech TUSQ to improve tuning stability (it also says it improves harmonics)
    - replace the tuners with locking tuners (Aliexpress with high ratings)
    - replace the knobs with metal ones
    - replace the neck cover with a nickel plated instead of brass and if it does not improve replace the pickups (thinking of Toneriders Vintage, GFS or something decent and economical)

I don't want to spend a lot, as I could get a Classic Vibe Squire but I see people also mod them.

In any case, I would like to hear from you. What have you done to your Austin Telecaster. Is it worth upgrading?

By the way, do you have to take the neck out to replace the pickups? (it has 22 frets but the neck pickup seems to be in the pickguard).

Thanks a lot!
    Elisabet

2. Zettemusik

Zettemusik TDPRI Member

Hi, as nobody answered, just in case anyone needs it: