Modding a neck pickup on a single coil tele

donnyfolds

NEW MEMBER!
Not sure if this is the right subforum for this question, I'm new to DIY guitars.
I just got a Noventa Telecaster and have been curious about the possibility of installing a humbucker.
I can't find anything online about adding a neck pickup to a single coil guitar like a LP junior, so I'm not sure if it's even possible.
Any help is appreciated, specifically on how this would work in terms of wiring and difficulty.
Is it possible to mod a switch, a second set of knobs and a neck pickup into this guitar? Thanks
If it makes it easier to answer, It doesn't matter that I'm new to modding as someone else would be doing it.

KokoTele

Doctor of Teleocity
Vendor Member
Is it possible, sure, but it's a lot of work. If you're asking, there's probably a big learning curve for you. None of the tasks are that complicated, but could be daunting for the uninitiated.

You'd have to disassemble most of the guitar, route for the new pickup, then drill a hole with an aircraft bit from the neck pocket through the neck pickup cavity to the bridge cavity so you have a place to run the wires.

If you want to use the existing control cavity, I'd use a Gibson-style switch where the Volume knob is and then use a stacked concentric pot in the other hole for both volume and tone controls. You could also route the cavity like a standard Tele and use a regular control plate and switch.

Then you'd have to reassemble and wire it. None of these tasks by themselves are complicated, but put them together and it's a sizable project. For a pro, it's probably about 4 hours of work from start to finish. For a newbie, you'd have to start with getting a router, bits, and templates, and learning how to use them. And then you'd have to get a soldering iron and learn how to use it.