1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Mini toggle stout enough?

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Mark the Moose, Dec 29, 2019.

  1. Mark the Moose

    Mark the Moose Tele-Holic

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    902
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Erie, CO
    Adding a NFB switch to a Princeton Reverb, will a mini toggle hold up or do I need something heavy duty?
     
  2. BigDaddy23

    BigDaddy23 Tele-Holic

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    639
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Location:
    Australia
    They worked for me in my deluxe and a couple other amps - nil issues thus far
     
    Mark the Moose likes this.
  3. Mark the Moose

    Mark the Moose Tele-Holic

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    902
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Erie, CO
    Same question regarding a 4/8 ohm impedance switch?
     
  4. Dacious

    Dacious Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,860
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Godzone
    Yes in both cases.

    A NFB works on tiny currents. You could use anything rated half a watt or higher.

    In the case of a speaker loop it works in watts but not very high voltage.

    A toggle rated 125vac would be fine.
     
    Mark the Moose and BigDaddy23 like this.
  5. nojazzhere

    nojazzhere Doctor of Teleocity

    Age:
    68
    Posts:
    12,985
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Location:
    Foat Wuth, Texas
    The only issue I'd bring up is, I've used a couple of mini-toggles on my guitar for pickup selectors, and the cheaper ones don't hold up to repeated use......buy the top quality ones.
     
    robrob, schmee and Mark the Moose like this.
  6. Mark the Moose

    Mark the Moose Tele-Holic

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    902
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Erie, CO
    I have a crap ton of mini toggles from building pedals but would have to order the big ones, so I was hoping to avoid a week-long delay.
     
  7. trev333

    trev333 Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    25,588
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Location:
    Coolum Beach,Australia
    this cheapy has held out for @8 yrs ..so far, so good...:D

    how often do you use an NFB switch?.... ;)

    control plate-switch.jpg
     
    Skydog1010 likes this.
  8. Skydog1010

    Skydog1010 Tele-Afflicted Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    1,768
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Yeah they work well, actually better than most LP style three ways. I will say that all of my minis have been spst (on/off).
     
  9. telemnemonics

    telemnemonics Telefied Ad Free Member

    Age:
    61
    Posts:
    23,158
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    Maine
    I’d use a pot for the nfb.
     
    Wally and jtcnj like this.
  10. SacDAve

    SacDAve Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    7,226
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Rocklin Ca.
    I use the mini toggle on my amps for NFB switch there fine, advice stay away from cheap ones on amazon
     
  11. Pick_n_Strum

    Pick_n_Strum Tele-Meister

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Location:
    Lino Lakes, MN
    Mini toggle has held up great in my 5e3 - although it is still young yet.
     
  12. King Fan

    King Fan Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,710
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    I don't know about duty cycle durability, but for impedance switching I'd fit a rotary switch like Rob and many others do -- toggle switches are way too easy to set or leave or bump into the 'wrong' position. This isn't a switch you use that often, so can easily and usefully be stuck somewhere on the back of the amp.

    FWIW, I seldom use my NFB switch, and I've seen more than a few PR owners say the same thing. But for related reasons I do like the idea per @telemnemonics to use a pot -- a little bit of a cut is a lot on a PR, and you may want to adjust with precision.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2019
  13. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    37,201
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    The Prin Rev feedback circuit does not have as much cancellation effect as do the loops on the larger Bf/SF amps. I have never modded a Prin Rev NFB loop, but if I did I would be using at least a 10K pot in series with that 2700ohm top resistor.
    I also have never used a switch as I prefer adjustability. Nuance, nuance, nuance....
    I know one fellow who used the pot I installed for him to ‘tune’ the amp to the room. If he was in a cold, hard surface venue; he went large on the resistance. If he was in a warm room, he tended to go closer to the stock resistance.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.