Mighty Mite necks

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by tcarp, Mar 28, 2009.

1. tcarp

tcarp Tele-Holic

I'm still considering using an MIM standard neck on a Thinline partscaster project but want to keep my options open.

I saw a birdseye maple Mighty Mite neck at a reasonable price. Anyone use them? How do they compare fit/finish/quality-wise to an MIM standard?

This is my first project and a new neck will bring me over budget but I'd go that route if a Mighty Mite neck has advantages over the MIM.

Thanks

Tom

2. Ironwolf

Ironwolf Poster Extraordinaire Gold Supporter

I've used two of them with no complaints. They usually require a minor fret leveling, but most aftermarket necks do.

3. Hollmanp90

Hollmanp90 Tele-Afflicted

Some things I don't like....frets will need some attention....but so do my Muskraft-All Parts.....also your stuck with truss adjustment at the headstock and a wider 12th fret dot spacing........Junkie plastic nut.

I like the neck shape and fret size......

And though on some builds with the truss rod adjustment being on the headstock isn't spec. and kinda odd looking.....it looks better once you get them tinted and cleared.

[​IMG]

Every MM neck I have used the heel and neck pocket fit was good and tight.......each his own.....build to play and enjoy.

4. iansmitchell

iansmitchell Tele-Afflicted

With EDEN out there, there's no reason for mighty mite to make necks.

5. telecster

telecster Tele-Meister

6. tcarp

tcarp Tele-Holic

"With EDEN out there, there's no reason for mighty mite to make necks"

Can you elaborate on that?

Tom

7. Amadhunter

Amadhunter Tele-Meister

I bought one from 500spxcash too. Very pleased with it. He does the fretwork for you, and the one I got is nice. I'll use them again.

8. the_utp

the_utp Tele-Meister

I just put a Mighty Mite neck on a partscaster I built. The fretwork was generally very good -- no fret edges hanging over the fretboard, and a clean finish a decent (but not mirror) polish.