Mesa Boogie Fillmore 50 is The Best Amp I’ve Ever Had

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by SonicDiveBomb, Feb 23, 2020.

1. SonicDiveBomb

SonicDiveBomb Tele-Meister

Like most of you, I’m a very hardworking musician who needs hard working equipment.
    Some of you helped me diagnose problems I was having with BRAND NEW Fender 68 custom amps (two twins then a vibrolux) which sounded fantastic, but failed on me after very mild usage.

A nice guy at the local music store I just began going to, that I trust dearly, suggested I look at Mesa Boogie. They’re apparently very well known for their craftsmanship and their reliability.

I always thought Mesa was a “metal amp” company. Not sure where I got that from. I’m a fan of big sparkly cleans.
    Enter their newer line, the Fillmore. Which Randall smith (owner and creator of mesa boogie) himself said “we basically just made the fender amp we always wanted”

this thing is unreal. The clean sound is absolutely crisp and clear but the top end doesn’t get shrill. Do yourself a favor and check these out. I just played it at the studio today and was blown away with how it sounded with my mustang and jaguar. It handles pedals like a champ, and the drive channel on this thing SINGS.

2. cyclopean

cyclopean Poster Extraordinaire

mesa makes some very well regarded metal amps - the dual rec and the peavey 5150 are standard bearers for modern metal tones.

an old neighbor of mine had a 35 watt mesa head that had cleans as nice as a twin reverb but still did metal very, very well. i've never played any other amp i can say that about.

SonicDiveBomb likes this.
  3. SonicDiveBomb

Yes! I’m very new to Mesa, but I can say that as well. It does both very well. Feels like I found what I’ve been looking for for some time

4. Frodebro

Frodebro Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

I went to my local store to buy a Mesa Triple Crown last summer and came home with this:

IMG_1155.jpeg

5. SonicDiveBomb