MC10 update

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by andrewRneumann, Jun 25, 2020.

1. andrewRneumann

andrewRneumann Tele-Meister

Yeah, I should have made one long build thread. I’m new to designing and building amps, and I’m new to forums.

Anyway, here’s where I’m at. I built a bank of potentiometers that clamps to the bottom of the amp (top in the image) for the testing and adjusting phase. I just labeled everything with a sharpie for now. I plan to run all the stages at near neutral bias, work on the clean tone, then start warming up and cooling them down until it sounds about right. Also have pots for interstate attenuation and negative feedback adjustment. This will be my first chance to hear, in the moment, what changes to the circuit do, so I’m really looking forward to learning a lot.

DA2EACB6-1AC9-4158-973E-191BDCBFE936.jpeg

Here’s the current gut shot. The power supply is done, tested, and working. Heater wiring is done and tested. A paper copy of the board design from DIYLC is helping me figure out any tweaks that need to be made. One issue is that I want to be able to remove the OT without disturbing the board, so there will have to be a hole in the middle to access a screw head. Having the paper tiger in there helps make sure it all works. (I left the leads on the PT long for now until I’m confident in the design and then I will trim them.)

2FB31BB2-673C-4F28-BE7B-189D87D8CE01.jpeg

Seeing it all come together is really encouraging for me. I’m already seeing things that I could have done better. Like maybe just mount the reservoir capacitors right on the end of the board instead of separately. That’s the fun of starting from scratch!

Be good everyone,

dan40 and Tom Kamphuys like this.
  2. NSB_Chris

NSB_Chris Tele-Meister

Can you post a schematic of your entire circuit creation.

3. andrewRneumann

I’m kind of a scatter-brain, so my schematic is what many people would call... untidy. I need to clean it up and will post soon.