1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Martin 000-18 / 28 vs D-18 / 28

Discussion in 'Acoustic Heaven' started by NateD81, Mar 23, 2021.

1. NateD81

NateD81 Tele-Meister

Awhile back I was asking about Mahogany vs. Rosewood. I've decided that I want to go in the direction of a Martin 18, I'm just having a hard time determining which would be a better fit for me, the 000 or the D.

the scale length isn't a huge determining factor for me, but if all things are equal I do like the short length. I like to play in alternate tunings and love a harmonically rich tone which seems like that would suit a 000-28, but people seem to really love the 000-18...Good problem to have I suppose. I'm new to Martins and there aren't many near me unless I drive quite a ways.

I play 99% just using the flesh of my fingertips, finger picking with a little strumming here and there. I don't play live and I don't have any intention to. Just like to play for enjoyment and record music on occasion.

I'm under the impression that the 000-18 would check most of the boxes - but I won't be able to play one in person. There's a store nearby with a D-18 I can try, but yeah, the 000-18 would have to be a leap of faith. I'm comfortable with that.

2. KC

KC Friend of Leo's

happy owner of a 000-18 and former owner of a D-18 (but that was a looooong time ago). Really love the balanced sound of the 000. D-18 was louder & bassier. If you're playing bluegrass and need that low E to really pop, then the D-18 is great. But the 000 seems more even from bottom to top, and doesn't give away much in the volume department.