Marshall origin 20h, questions on how to quiet practice

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by markfresh, Mar 13, 2021.

1. markfresh

markfresh TDPRI Member

Hi,

A few questions if i may.
    (Im a drummer who dabbles in guitar so be gentle)

I have the 20h and a 4x12 origin cab.
    I mostly use pedals for my sound e.g Boss SD-1, Pro-co rat.
    When i have the chance to play at home loudish i have no problems with the set up and it sounds great.

Where im having trouble is how to play at lower volumes etc.
    To solve the lower volume problem when practicing i was going to buy a attenuator, a bugera ps-1, unfortunately in Australia every store is sold out and i cannot afford to pay triple the price for top of the range one.

I understand that these amps need the master volume cranked and when i can play loud i have master and gain on 9. (power on 0.5 or 3w )
    If i turn the master down and gain down it just doesnt have the right sound.

So until i can get a attenuator im not sure there is much i can do unless can i stick a boost pedal in there etc, or any other suggestions?

On to headphone listening, the DI out seems to only come out 1 ear of my headphones, i run the DI into my audio interface, and cant get it in both ears.

I have also run out of the effects send to interface which is in both ears but is then not including the power amp and doesnt sound so good , i have tired to run a cab sim (wall of sound) thru my recording software but it seems it is only for adding after recording not live listening?

So my goal , is there a way to get the amp to sound better without headphones with the master turned down?

How can i solve my headphone practice problem?

Also i have miced up the amp and direct monitored that and it sounds great, but again only at loudish volume .

So basically once the mrs and kids go to bed there is no nice sounding amp for me , which is my prefered time to play.

Thanks MArk

2. Mudman32

Mudman32 Tele-Meister