Mark Knopfler technique?

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Manly wimp 17, May 3, 2017.

1. Manly wimp 17

Manly wimp 17 TDPRI Member

Okay, I'm a beginner guitarist and I always thought that hard rock and metal songs were the ones I wanted to be able to play (mostly because of me being familiar with different songs from these fields and guitarists like Zakk Wylde...). About a week ago I discovered the Dire Straits and I'm in love with the sound of it all. So, naturally, I really want to be able to play songs like Sultans of swing. The problem is that I don't know where to begin. Please, do you know where I can find lessons on Knopfler's guitar technique and how to be able to play like him (even if his technique is almost impossible to master, I want to learn it, because I am certain that playing this type of music will bring the most joy to me).

I also found a youtuber who plays in this style that I find interesting (). His name is Josh Turner.

2. Lobomov

Lobomov Friend of Leo's

LOL .. no offence I can understand where you are coming from, as I worshipped MK when I was 15 and would sit at night and marvel at his playing not understanding, how he made those sounds.

But it's not magic and at some point you suddenly start sounding like him.

The early Mark Knopfler sound is basically a guitar (preferably a strat in 2. position (middle+bridge), but any guitar will do) and a nice clean amp.

Then there is the chicking picking demonstrated nicely by Greg Koch here: (Starting at 3:30)

Have fun :)

3. cboutilier

cboutilier Tele-Afflicted

4. Flakey

Flakey Friend of Leo's

From the man himself:

Mark was influenced by a lot of country pickers like Chet Atkins and Merle Travis.

5. boredguy6060

boredguy6060 Friend of Leo's

Josh Turner is young but he's no beginner.

SnidelyWhiplash and McGlamRock like this.
  6. richiek65

richiek65 Friend of Leo's

Knopfler impresses even the best of the best..including these young upstarts..