Making the nut.

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by Mongo Park, Aug 1, 2020.

1. Mongo Park

Mongo Park Tele-Holic

I have a pair of tele necks I am making and it is the nut making part. I am no expert here and just sort of make it up as I go along, and look up the measurements that other people use.
    I have used camel bone in the past but thought I would try some Corian. I have read it is the real stuff it makes a good nut. I am looking forward to trying this one neck as it has a V shaped back. I guess it doesn’t show in the photo

Attached Files:

tubegeek likes this.
  2. Mongo Park

Mongo Park Tele-Holic

I measured the slot width and marked off the Corian. One neck is slightly larger than the other but extremely small differences
    I cut off 3 slices with the band saw, they will get used. I also checked the depth to see that it will be high enough It is high enough and long enough to make 4 nuts from one strip.
    The photos are not in the right order which is my bad but you get the idea.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Aug 1, 2020
    tubegeek and whoanelly15 like this.
  3. Mongo Park

Mongo Park Tele-Holic

The next step is to get the strips to fit into the slot. I use a file to slim them down when I use a power tool it is to hard for me to make them a even thickness and that millisecond where to much is taken off. So I file a little fit a little, hold my mouth just right and play some most excellent tunes and things come tougher
    I rub some pencil on to see where the low points are so I make sure I get them all out.
    Rhe unfinished maple one is the ever so slightly wider one. So I will do it first. It is easier to hold the piece if I leave it long.

Attached Files:

tubegeek likes this.
  4. Mongo Park

Mongo Park Tele-Holic