Making Ink Jet Waterlside Decals

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by Tezuka27, May 23, 2013.

1. Tezuka27

Tezuka27 Tele-Holic

HI all.

I've never done this before and have a basic question about making waterlides.

I'm making this for a FUZZFACE clone I just built. I was going to print it black, like the originals, but I finished the enclosure in a dark blue, almost purple, metal flake and the black just wont read, so I'm going with white inside a dark blue outline. I have no access to a laser printer and I've heard the commercial places (kinko's, etc.) generally won't print laser water slides for you because of the melting issues at the fuser, so my canon ink jet is my only recourse. To get the white, I'm going to print in reverse and fill in the outlines with white paint. The question is, will the necessary sealing coat on the ink jet dyes keep the decal from adhering since the sealed side is the one that will be going against the surface of the enclosure?

Any thoughts, tips, or advice will be greatly appreciated.

john

2. Armo

Armo Tele-Holic

Can't see that working. You need some white waterslide paper as opposed to clear or paint the white on the pedal before you apply the WS. Print on on inkjet and then seal with acrylic varnish. Horrible stuff to use. Good luck. By the way if you print on the back it will just float off with the backing leaving nothing but a clear sheet.

3. Rich_S

Rich_S Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

What he said.

4. benderb9

benderb9 Tele-Holic