1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

MacKenzie & Marr

Discussion in 'Acoustic Heaven' started by Chicago Matt, Jan 20, 2021.

1. Chicago Matt

Chicago Matt Friend of Leo's

I've been thinking about a solid wood 00 size "parlor" guitar for awhile and found this great sounding demo online. They seem to have many other models as well. Do any of you have experience with MacKenzie & Marr guitars? Thanks in advance...

2. Freeman Keller

Freeman Keller Poster Extraordinaire

Interestingly I mostly keep my mahogany double ought in open D - it just seems happy that way. I don't however consider 00 a "parlor", I think the break point is more like a single ought.

I have no experience with the brand. I think you will be happy with the size, however as with any guitar purchase you should definitely play it before buying.

Last edited: Jan 20, 2021
    Chicago Matt likes this.
  3. Freeman Keller

I will add a couple more thoughts. The MacKenzie & Marr looks like a heck of a deal. I can hardly buy the wood for what they are are charging. That said, never buy a guitar that you haven't played. I love small body guitars, I have a closet full of them and two dreadnaughts that sit unplayed in the basement. That said their voice may or may not be what you are looking for. Most double oughts will be 12 frets clear and most will have fairly wide fretboards - again, make sure you like that. Small guitars can be amazingly loud, they tend to project very well if they are lightly built. They are great guitars for blues and roots music, I play a lot of slide on mine.

I think double ought is the perfect compromise between a full sized (dread, OM, jumbo) and true parlor guitars - for many people the voice of a parlor just doesn't live up to expectations (we are too used to hearing big guitars)