Low Wattage "kit" build - need ideas

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Lavely, Dec 28, 2020.

1. Lavely

Lavely TDPRI Member

I'm pretty new to building, finishing a 5E3 now (see thread), starting to plan my next build. I would love something like an Emery Superbaby or Microbaby...I am seeking a very "minimalist" or "pure" tube circuit to start with that allows tubes to shine, looking for a big, pure, round clean tone, and the ability to drive the tubes to overdrive at reasonable levels. I really want the option to swap preamp, power amp and recto tubes to use oddballs I have sitting around. Then, I may start doing some mods after that. I have plenty of big amps, this one would be my Tube Overdrive model.

I also would like to build something that has been completely spec'd out by someone, including the ability for me to simply buy a chassis and circuit board that will work. Not necessarily laziness on my part (though I suppose that could be argued!), just trying to limit what I'm getting into in terms of time...for example, I'm going to have a ball building the 5E3 and trying a few mods to change the sound. But, I really don't want to have to figure out how to cut a metal chassis or construct a turret board. It was very easy to buy a chassis, order transformers & parts from a list, etc.

I have done a couple hours of research, and most of the references I find are to relatively "dead" projects - Firefly, Gilmore - that used to get close to what I'm seeking. Meaning, they are no longer available as kits. OR lower wattage amps that use 12AU7 or smaller oddball tubes as the power section. Probably the best I see now are Rob's MicroDeluxe, MicroChamp and MicroBassman - they are all spec'd out, and it looks like I can send a software file to someone to have that made...unsure yet on the board itself (just haven't gotten that far).