1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Low profile Hot rod?

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by TheOutlaw, Jan 21, 2021.

1. TheOutlaw

TheOutlaw Tele-Meister

Any reason not to use one of these? Plan is for a on piece maple tele neck with heel adjust but its my first build so it could go sideways quick.

Side note..
    I bought a hot rods bit a while back not sure if the same bit works for both regular and low profile or not. Ill have to look into that.

2. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Ad Free Member

No reason not to use it. The regular hotrod is 7/32" x 7/16" or so. The difference is about 1/16 deep on the low profile IIRC , which is negligible to me unless your neck is pencil thin.

It is a bit cheaper though.

It also is 1/16" wider, so you'll either have to change bits or move your fence over to accommodate the difference in width. I suspect these low profile ones might be like the blue import rods.

Given a choice...I'd stick with the full size hotrod, but that's me. The blue hotrods require more fiddly routing to accommodate the nut block and nut than the ease of just one straight slot for the Hot Rod.

Last edited: Jan 22, 2021
  3. old wrench

old wrench Tele-Afflicted

The low profile truss rods I've used are metric sized.

I've seen them with blue or black plastic wrap *, and there may be other colors as well.

The ones I've used (and all of them I've seen) are 6mm (.236") wide and 9mm (.354") tall.

I use a 6mm diameter router bit to plow out the channel in the neck.

I've also used the original StewMac hotrods. Red plastic wrap *.

They are 7/32" (.218" or 5.54mm) wide and 7/16" (.438" or 11.11mm) tall.

The SM router bit for hot rods is .225" diameter.