Love my amp but I’m getting too lazy to use it

burntfrijoles

Poster Extraordinaire
I think I’ll have to eat my words and say mea culpa for the disparaging remarks towards modeling. Oh, I still prefer my amp, as special edition 12’ speaker version of the PRRI. It’s has great tones and is a great pedal platform.
I love it so much that I haven’t played it in about two months. Instead I’ve been using my Iridium and the stock Logic amp plugins. I will likely buy a third party amp plugin when they are updated to run natively on Apple silicon M1 Macs.

It’s not that I think the Iridium or Logic plugins sound better or as good as my PRRI (they don’t) but it’s much easier to use the Iridium etc than to mic my amp. This is particularly true for recording. The simulated tones are good enough. To top it off, I don’t think I’ve gotten the best out of the Iridium or Logic yet because I’m still learning how to maximize the tones. I’m speaking of more of the tech side of it than the actual tones. For example, some times my lead tone sound thinner than I would like but when I tweak my settings I screw something else up. I don’t think this is the Iridium or the plugins fault but rather my limitations at diagnosing what is needs, e.g. EQ, ambience, etc.

I’ll still play the PRRI but I think it’s going to become less and less utilized. I’m not ready to ditch it although I may replace it with a TM Deluxe Reverb at some point. There's still something about playing through an amp, plus sometimes I get better results recording with mic'ing the darn thing.

These times they are a changin’

Engine Swap

Friend of Leo's
I only use my 1965 Deluxe Reverb if I want to hear “what a guitar really sounds like”.

I use modelers and sims for 99.99% percent of recordings these days.

archetype

Fiend of Leo's
Ad Free Member