Looking for suggestions - AC30S1

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by DimEyeGuitarGuy, Feb 21, 2020.

1. DimEyeGuitarGuy

DimEyeGuitarGuy Tele-Meister

Hey folks.
    I'm pondering the possibility of upgrading the tubes (still stock) on my AC30S1.

I'm new to this so I was hoping to get some suggestions from the exhorts round here.

Are JJs the kinda go to? Do they sell matched sets of 4 for the EL84's? Do the preamp tubes need to be matched? Where is the best place to buy from?

If it matters, I'm trying to learn to play country style music so I works want to make sure my upgrades will maintain that target genre.

Thanks y'all.

Tom (DEGG)

2. corliss1

corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

Is there a reason you want to upgrade?

We seem to like JJ power tubes, but not their preamp tubes.

You can get matched tubes of any type in pretty much any quantity you want.

Super subjective, but I've never had a bad experience with Tube Depot, and have bought hundreds of tubes there.

Doesn't matter at all. You aren't going to change a tube and turn into a metal shredder.

With a tube change, you may or may not notice a difference at all. Sometimes I pop in a tube and I'm surprised and there is a noticeable change. Other times I change a tube (for noise related reasons) and it sounds exactly the same.

It's a huge can of worms, with lots of opinions, but if the amp is working fine and you like the sound, I'd just leave it.

3. Dacious

Dacious Poster Extraordinaire

Is there something wrong with the current amp - noisy, losing power? If you need new tubes then matched power tubes in quads are necessary. P

Preamp tube are self biased, do not require matching as each half of the tube is used independently. I think JJs are a good choice for power tubes. Not so much for preamp tubes.