Looking for some amp advice as I search for something different.

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by jgwcaster, May 31, 2017.

1. jgwcaster

jgwcaster TDPRI Member

Hi all, I'm looking for suggestions as I launch in my quest for a fresh amp.

Okay, I'm a bedroom player who also plays at church. I'm no pro and It's been a while since I was in the market for an amp so i'm not sure about what all has developed in the last few years.

I currently have a Vox AC4TV with the ten inch speaker, been using it for about 4 years.

It is my first tube amp and I like the sounds I get out of it but I have recently been wondering about amps with a few more knobs. Particularly something with a master volume. Forum legend also indicates that I should be interested in a 12" speaker.

This probably sounds crazy but I don't need more volume, the church band is small and I run on 4 watts as the cleans are more bell like, not strangled like when I run the attenuator. But when I turn up to get breakup on the amp it's too loud for the rest of the band. (Sad, I know)

I am thinking that's where a master volume would help. Am I wrong in this?

I also would like to find something other than vox for the next amp.

Would the bass breaker 007 be significantly louder as it is 7 watts? Or does a master volume eliminate my need to worry about too many watts?

Would I be better off with a katana (modeler, I know) or is 50-100 watts just so far over top that it's just a waste of power for what I do.

I am planning on heading to a Samash to try some amps but my time will be limited so your recommendations will help give focus to my quest.

2. Rialto1564

Rialto1564 Tele-Meister

Let me suggest a used Peavey Envoy or Studio Pro. Not a tube amp, but they're very good.

hrstrat57 and ce24 like this.
  3. CyrusF

CyrusF Tele-Meister