1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Looking for recommendation on strings

Discussion in 'The BASS Place' started by Kerry Vance, Jul 4, 2004.

1. Kerry Vance

Kerry Vance Tele-Meister

I've been playing guitar for over 40 years now and recently picked up a Danelectro bass. I plan to use it for recording more than anything. Now I'm looking for recommendations for strings. I remember reading an interview with Joey Spampinato of NRBQ talking about how he thought the Danelectros sounded more like an upright than any other basses. And it seemed like he talked about using flatwound strings. That's the sound I'm looking for. Does anyone have any recommendations -- all things considered - scale length, etc. Thanks in advance.
    Kerry

2. Tim Armstrong

Tim Armstrong Super Moderator Ad Free Member

Lots of good choices...

I use Thomastik-Infeld Jazz Flats on my P-bass and really love them. They're a little pricey these days, going for around $40/set from Juststrings.com.

Based on Rob DiStefano's recommendation, I bought a set of stainless steel flatwounds from webstrings.com, cost me $15 shipped. I got them for a project bass which isn't finished yet, so I can't comment on their quality, but the price sure was right, and Rob seems to dig them...

Also well thought of are GHS Brite Flats, which are groundwounds (round strings leveled off after winding).

Cheers, Tim

3. Synchro

Synchro Tele-Meister

I've heard that tapewounds are good for this too.

I believe that Fender makes a set of steel strings that are over-wound with nylon tape and are supposed to be good for getting an upright sound. I believe the part # is 9020.

4. Bob Rogers

Bob Rogers Tele-Afflicted