1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Looking for Pinecaster staining and (non nitro) finish tutorial- Please Read!

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by flickrare, Apr 15, 2021.

1. flickrare

flickrare NEW MEMBER!

So there are a TON of posts on this forum asking how to oil finish a guitar- and how to oil finish a pine guitar or how not to.

there are lots of replies that are a total of 2 lines- or their are some somewhat complete opinions on what to do- with absolutely zero pictures.

I'd really like to find a complete tutorial- I've honestly been searching this for a long time because I have no experience with finishing a whole guitar.

So can anyone link me to a tutorial- maybe with pictures at least of the finished product- on some oil finishes for pine. particularly interested in either staining the wood or blending in some dye with the finishing oil to get some tinting. But I've seen some wild colored barn casters so surely there's some things you can do

or maybe a youtube video- or a book that would be a good buy- I am learning that finishing is sort of an experimental art when people say "i mixed up some this and that for a light spray instead of wood filler, I know pine drinks up this stuff, so ill check it and see how much is getting absorbed into the wood" it definitely seems like an art with tons of ways about it.

maybe I got the wrong free body to do an oil finish. why do i wanna do oil? everybody has scared me out of doing a lacquer finish.

Can anyone help me out!?! I was so set on doing a dye/stain/oil body and I got a free tele pine body- and now I'm seeing nothing on actually finishing a tele with oil, stain, dye that has the results posted with detailed instructions or vido.

maybe im missing something

2. DrASATele

DrASATele Poster Extraordinaire