1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Looking for help rewiring a Vintera

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by _rfrank98, May 18, 2020.

  1. _rfrank98

    _rfrank98 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    23
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    Hey guys,

    I bought a Fender Vintera 50s Modified Telecaster a while back and I'm in the process of modding it a bit to my liking, I like having the use of the S1 switch but much prefer having domed knobs on the guitar, therefore I've come to the decision that I want to replace the S1 switch with a push/pull pot. Could anyone help me with the wiring side of having a 4 way switch and push/pull phase switching in positions 2/4.

    I'm still pretty new to the whole guitar wiring thing (furthest I've gone so far is just swapping pickups out) so any help would be much appreciated.

    Cheers!
     
  2. jfgesquire

    jfgesquire Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    54
    Posts:
    1,622
    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Location:
    Lake View
    The S-1 shouldn't be much different from a push pull...

    I think the Baja Tele was 4-way with an S-1

    Would these wiring diagrams help?

    https://www.fmicassets.com/Damroot/Original/10002/014-1510A_SISD.pdf

    And phase reversing here:

    https://www.fralinpickups.com/2017/03/29/push-pull-pots-mods/

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
  3. medownsouth

    medownsouth Tele-Holic Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    991
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Location:
    Tri State, MS

    breja toneworks on youtube has some good vids covering this (tone circuits/push pull etc), and there are plenty of procedural videos on how to solder as well. Go slow, and have every joint planned before doing the actual work. Use a good iron, 60W or better, and good flow solder. I use American brand, .88mm its great for all my needs and flows easily w/ a 60W (approx, I use a station).
     
  4. _rfrank98

    _rfrank98 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    23
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    I know it's a lot of work for such a minor change but as I'm looking to put some dome knobs on but keep all the tone options I've decided to essentially swap the s1 out for a push/pull.

    I just wondered if anyone had experience with directly swapping out an s1 for a push/pull
     
  5. _rfrank98

    _rfrank98 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    23
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    ah thanks for the advice I'll check them out
     
  6. _rfrank98

    _rfrank98 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    23
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    I think I've managed to find what I'm looking for, I'll stick the diagram I found in here in case anyone stumbles across this looking for the same thing.

    Thanks for the help anyway guys [​IMG]
     
  7. Kevin Wolfe

    Kevin Wolfe Tele-Holic

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    540
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017
    Location:
    Lakeland FL
    That’ll work. S-1 switches are prone to failure anyway.
     
    jfgesquire likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.