1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Looking for an amp solution/advice... HELP!

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by SpankTank, Sep 22, 2020.

1. SpankTank

SpankTank TDPRI Member

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the tube amp scene. I recently have been through a couple and have repeatedly found rattling noises.
    I started with a vox ac15, which I loved the tone of. The first one I got was a floor model, but had tube rattle right out of the gate. I returned it and asked for a new-in-box model. I got my second ac15 right away. It was actually solid at first, but after only a couple weeks.... tube rattle. I ended up swapping to jj el84 power tubes and sovtec pre amp tubes. This got rid of the tube rattle, which I believe was originating from the power tubes. About two or three months later a new rattle/vibration appeared. Didn't sound like the tubes, rather it sounded like it was something inside, one of the components or maybe the cab itself. It kept getting worse and worse until I couldn't really ignore it, would be louder on some frequencies, quieter on some. This lead to me take the amp in for service, where they tried going over everything. After nothing seemed to work, they offered me a new vox. I was scared to ask for my tubes back, fearing I would void my warranty by admitting to being inside the amp.
    Sure enough, the new vox had tube rattle the day I got it.
    During the time I had my vox in service I did A LOT of reading online which lead me to believe that maybe vox ac15 combos were just prone to buzzing and rattling noise issues.