Looking for a replacement for a Bill & Becky L610

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by wadeeinkauf, May 12, 2021.

1. wadeeinkauf

wadeeinkauf Tele-Afflicted

Just rediscovered the Bill Lawrence L610. (Bill’s stacked P90) I bought these in 2015 just before Becky stopped making them, put them in a multiscale I built but never played. Just pulled them out and put in a new build. I love these pickups. I became a fan of Bill Lawrence with the SCN he designed for Fender…Tele and Strat. I know, many purists hated them but I loved the tone of tele neck SCN. I do not like the look of L610 but am crazy with the growling articulation. I have no experience with P90s so nothing to compare the L610 to other P90s. Can anyone familiar with the L610 recommend a noise free (stacked) P90 in a humbucker size that sounds close to the 610.

eallen likes this.
  2. bigtuna61

bigtuna61 Tele-Meister

Huge fan of the t2 and the copper bridge. People say..." That's not bill lawrence. He didn't put that **** out" it's ok someone is marketing them under his name sound is amazing. And I dig the look of the copper bridge. Just oozes vintage vibe. 20210407_082129.jpg

wadeeinkauf likes this.
  3. eallen

eallen Friend of Leo's

You can't go wrong with any of the Wilde lineup! Maybe an L90 with the right Henry, pot, and cap choice.

@Derek Kiernan probably has some insight.

Derek Kiernan and wadeeinkauf like this.
  4. honeycreek

honeycreek Tele-Afflicted

My L90 doesn’t sound anything like my L610 (which is a higher H version). I haven’t been able to get along with any of the L90’s I have which are a variety of inductances. I do have one in a banjo though that I gigged for a while. I’m sad to hear these aren’t available anymore as I was hoping to try a lower inductance set some day.

wadeeinkauf likes this.
  5. Derek Kiernan

Derek Kiernan Friend of Leo's