1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Longest Tele Partscaster Build?

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by dimmy, Jan 19, 2021.

1. dimmy

dimmy TDPRI Member

The last thread I started had to do with me joining TDPRI back in 2009 and posting my first post in Nov 2020 (https://www.tdpri.com/threads/am-i-the-longest-registered-member-before-a-post.1055280/).

I wonder if this thread can qualify for the longest time required to complete a partsocaster?

Before I start, a forewarning. I need to confess that I am not technical or handy in any way. I only have primary school grade home maintenance skills. The only electric tools I had when I started this was a corded drill and a circular saw (I now also have a cordless drill and a router). Also, I didn’t know what I was doing on this journey, so I made did what I thought was the way to do it. Many mistakes were made along the way and I tried to correct them after cussing myself. So join along and let me know what I could improve upon.

I can’t recall the website, but I used to spend hours on a site where you could build your dream guitar by choosing parts and it renders the image of what it’ll look like. Over the course of many months, I dreamt up so many options and finally settled for a TeleGrestch with Bigsby.

I started by purchasing a double ‘f’ hole tele body off eBay back in 2008. It was an ash body with a quilted maple top and binding on the top.
    Tele 7.JPG Tele back 2.JPG

I also picked up a 21 fret USACG tele neck, compound neck radius, stainless steel frets.
    Neck Front.jpg

Other hardware and electronics were as follows:
    • 500K CTS pots
    • Switchcraft 3 way switch
    • SD Prails (neck)
    • SD Triple shot mounting ring
    • SD JD (bridge)
    • Wilkinson string thru bridge with brass saddles
    • Bigsby B5