Local music store experience

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by TheInertials, Jul 2, 2015.

1. TheInertials

TheInertials TDPRI Member

Sorry this is long. I had a depressing experience yesterday. So much so that I'm still thinking about it. I wonder if I’m making too much out of it.

Now I have had a lot of good experiences in music shops. Maybe I have been spoiled. Who knows. Anyway, I walk into this local music shop yesterday. I’ve actually been in there a couple times and bought accessories. Never was interested in buying a guitar there yet, but this time I was. I figured I’d at least see what they had. So I go in and notice a Squier VM Jaguar on the wall there. I look around. No place to sit down and play it. No cord for the amps. I walk around looking for a stool or something, for awhile. There’s a stool over in the acoustic guitar section a little ways down, but I decide not to be that guy who goes moving things around without asking. I look around for one of the shop guys. There are a couple around. One is busy at the register doing who knows what. The other is standing there talking to a guy. I wait a minute. Finally he finishes talking to that guy and he does come over and introduce himself, so I introduce myself. I notice he is a lot older and is missing teeth. He seems like a used car salesman at first.

I ask if it’s ok to play the guitars on the wall. He says sure absolutely go ahead. He seems not to know anything about guitars. I have to ask for a stool. He finds that. Finally I ask for a pick. He finds that. Now I have to ask for a cord for the amp. Each time before I ask for the next thing, I think, of course he’ll think of that. He works in a music shop! But no, I am forced to ask each time. He disappears in the back for awhile and finally comes out with a cord to plug into a little Vox modeling amp there.