List of needed items and tools for guitar maintenance?

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by 57fenderstrat, Oct 5, 2019.

1. 57fenderstrat

57fenderstrat Tele-Meister

Howdy folks ,

I have been playing for 16 years or so and only ever really do basic maintenance and setups on my guitars. I can obviously do the easy stuff like action and intonation however, I would always take guitars to the shop for truss rod stuff, neck relief, fret leveling, electronics etc. I think it’s time for me to learn how to do all that stuff independently. I really like the guys that do my occasional maintenance but this past month I had a tiring experience dealing with a guitar and I had to take it back two times right after the initial setup and it took nearly a week to get it back each time I sent it in. I’m still only 95% happy with the results but at this point I’m just tired of dealing with it anymore. My techs go above and beyond to make sure I’m pleased but at the end of the day I am the one who should be doing it because sometimes I ask for something to be done but quickly realize I liked it better the way it was before and want it changed back.

I was looking for some suggestions on a list of tools and items needed. Gauges, tools, cutting nuts, etc. I also want to learn how to do the soldering and such for changing caps, pickups, and whatnot. Maybe some suggestions on books for learning about it also? I don’t know if I’m brave enough to take on something like a full refret but I should be doing the rest. At this point I would really only be working on strats, teles, and acoustics. If you read this long post then thankyou.

2. moosie

moosie Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member