1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Lindy Fralin + grounding question

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Nolefinity, Apr 13, 2021.

1. Nolefinity

Nolefinity Tele-Meister

Hi everyone,

I'm putting in a set of Lindy Fralins in my Tele, and they have this wiring diagram:

https://www.fralinpickups.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/Telecaster-Wiring-Diagram.pdf

It says at the top, though, "Note: No jumpers are depicted. Make sure all metal is properly grounded."

I'm not a pro at this. Besides copper shielding I'm adding, do I need to connect a grounding wire too? If so, where do I get the right wire, and which two spots do I connect it to on this diagram?

Thanks,
    Steve

2. Meteorman

Meteorman Tele-Afflicted

tone pot needs a ground wire to vol pot - where all the black wires meet.
    i always ground the bridge with a separate wire too, altho some may say not necessary.
    shielding should be grounded too - you can do that by making sure it makes contact with control plate.
    practically any wire you have can be used.

Last edited: Apr 13, 2021
  3. Lowerleftcoast

Lowerleftcoast Friend of Leo's

The diagram shows the Tone pot grounded to the control plate. The control plate is grounded to the pickups via the Volume pot. The bridge and any shielding needs to make contact with the control plate or pot backs to be a proper shield. Usually a stranded wire is sandwiched under the bridge by separating the strands of wire into a fan shape, so it lays flat under the bridge. The neck pickup may have a shield attachment as well.

crazydave911 and Nolefinity like this.
  4. Nolefinity

Nolefinity Tele-Meister

@Lowerleftcoast Thanks! Here's a photo of the original TexMex pickups that came with my Road Worn, which I'm replacing with the Fralins.