1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Level Frets

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Laren, Sep 28, 2020.

1. Laren

Laren Tele-Meister

Hi guys,

Just learnt an interesting lesson. Frets have to be really level if you don't want any fret buzz. Seems obvious but I just had to do a level on my last build. The neck was flat and after I put the frets in they seemed fine when checked with my fret rocker. Put the two E strings on and yuck! Not good at all. Did a fret level and it's fine now. I'm new to building and this showed me how important really level frets are, just a tiny bit out and you'll find out when the strings go on. Still should hold me in good stead next time.

2. PhredE

PhredE Tele-Afflicted

Also, make sure to follow up with a good crown on the leveled frets and then a polish.
    I find that the leveling is straightforward, but a good crowing takes decent tools and follow through. Polishing is also important for good playabililty and tone(s) -- you'll be happier when all these are done in succession.

3. Laren

Laren Tele-Meister

Still having trouble getting a decent crown.I've got one of the triangular crowning files, seems I need more practice with it :(

crazydave911 and PhredE like this.
  4. Ronkirn

Ronkirn Doctor of Teleocity

true, so very true. the vast majority of guitars are shipped without the frets being leveled... the difference between one leveled and one not so, is much like driving a Porsche (or other fine performance car) without the wheels balanced and aligned.

Can ya drive it? Yep.. But can ya drive it at it's optimum? Nope... same thing on the guitar, can ya stumble through your repertoire? Yep... Can ya do so at your optimum level of performance? Nope..

Get 'em leveled guys.. it makes a hellova lotta difference,

here's how...