1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Lefty setup question? Wiring Guru needed.

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by Gutterguy, Jan 14, 2021.

1. Gutterguy

Gutterguy Tele-Meister

I will be installing this setup (below)in my squier Strat. Guitar electronics has an awesome wiring database. Being a lefty, and installing reverse audio pots, should I flip the drawing around 180*? So the pot and switch is on the left?

Pardon me, I’m new to soldering and such and am clueless. Thank you in advance. upload_2021-1-14_13-55-17.png upload_2021-1-14_13-55-17.jpeg

24 track likes this.
  2. Billy3

Billy3 Tele-Meister

What is up? Lefty here! Wiring diagrams can throw us an issue or two! I've done a few and have noticed that it really comes down to reversing the wiring on the 1and3 lugs on the pots. Pots suck for us because they don't work like they're supposed to unless you want to roll off counter clock wise. Audio,(a),Reverse,(c), doesn't matter. Use a multimeter and you will see how your pots taper and wiring will work. Linear(b) pots kind of work. Google this up! There are no left handed pots with the same taper as rightys that I have seen. The Taper is different!!! for reverse(c) pots!! Get used to it or use linear(b) pots! As a lefty we have to just deal sometimes. At least we use the right side of our brain! Lol! Ha! Keep on pickin!

Sam VanLaningham and 24 track like this.
  3. 24 track

24 track Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

if using left handed pots reverse the the pot orientation

where te blue wire is now becomes ground ( on the pot dia, )where the ground wire is on the dia now becomes hot

other than that the wiring is the same

SRHmusic and Billy3 like this.
  4. Gutterguy

Gutterguy Tele-Meister

Thank you for the help.

5. Billy3

Billy3 Tele-Meister