Left a decent band to join a (somewhat) crappier band...

Discussion in 'Band Wagon' started by jimdandy, Sep 18, 2014.

1. jimdandy

jimdandy Tele-Meister

Just want y'all's input on this situation.

The four-piece outfit I've been playing with for three years is pretty good. We like to play tunes I like (chili peppers, black keys, goo goo dolls, etc.) and are relatively tight musically. The downside: drummer is a control freak and has the personality of a piece of dried-out toast -- very anti-social. I do the majority of the marketing/booking/legwork. We've reached our pinnacle and have been playing the same local bar circuit for a couple years now -- no street dances, private gigs, etc. largely on account that the group is wound too tight (worried about equipment, travel, money, etc.) :rolleyes:.

It was gettiing old, so, I jumped ship -- gave my notice couple months ago and we have one gig left. I also do some acoustic stuff so was just going to be content with that for awhile.

In the meantime, another band asked me to fill in with them for a couple fun, higher profile gigs (state fair, alumni dance etc.) They then asked me to join them, which I thought about, and ultimately accepted.

The benefit to this group: I do very little work other than show up, play and tear down. They do better gigs such as street dances and private events. The downfall to this group: they play the tired-out crappy cover tunes (mustang sally, brown-eyed girl, etc.) and musically probably not as good.

I've already made my decision and will not go back on my word. But a part of me wonders if I made the right call. Guess this goes to prove no band situation is ever perfect.

Can anyone relate?

2. sax4blues

sax4blues Friend of Leo's