1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Leave a solder blob?

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Nolefinity, Apr 7, 2021.

1. Nolefinity

Nolefinity Tele-Meister

I’m not a soldering pro, so while removing TexMex pickups from my road worn Telecaster, a couple of the wires came off easily with heat, but in one place, three black wires joined together, and nothing I did would melt the blob at all. I ended up basically having to just cut the wires. So on one of the pots is still a little ball of solder and wires. Can I just leave that there, and when I put a new pickups, just attach the three black wires with new solder in a new place on the pot?

Thanks!

Steve Holt likes this.
  2. Boreas

Boreas Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

You can leave it. But it sounds like your iron doesn't get very hot. BUT, sometimes the tip needs to be tinned. Without the tip being tinned it can't transfer the proper amount of heat to the solder. I would try tinning the tip and try to remove it again. I would also suggest getting some solder wick which will absorb excess solder. Very useful for cleaning up sloppy joints.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08X3DX51F/?tag=tdpri-20

mojek, JL_LI, AAT65 and 2 others like this.
  3. SnidelyWhiplash

SnidelyWhiplash Friend of Leo's

Buy better equipment to make the job easier.

4. Nolefinity

Nolefinity Tele-Meister

Great answer so far, and I will gladly take recommendations on better equipment. If anybody could post links here, like Amazon, that would be awesome. There is one above for the wick. Sounds like I need a better iron as well. Thanks!

Boreas likes this.
  5. DavidP

DavidP Friend of Leo's