Learning To Solder..Any Primers?

Texicaster

Friend of Leo's
Ad Free Member
¡Bueno!™
Being a jeweler I'm quite good at flame soldering but it's been a few minutes since I did any electrical component soldering. I had a newer Weller a couple years ago ad found it frustrating...perhaps my technique or solder but I went ahead and bought a Hakko FX888D as I have accumulated a few projects that require I learn soldering....BUT...for this I'm curious about electric guitars in particular.

Here's the questions I have at the moment

Which tip(s)?

What type solder or brand of solder?

Temperatures for various components.

A practice item or two....

For the last question I assume getting an inexpensive guitar so I can easily test if I did it properly or fried a pot along the way.....Probably just grab a cheap Tele or Strat to play with.

I'm a lover of books and if a good print book can be recommended or of course YT videos etc....

ANY advice and ideas I'm not even aware about!

Last soldering project was a strobe light I made years ago! It was pretty fun and worked first time with no issues!

Thanks!

uriah1

Telefied
Gold Supporter
Definitely get a variable heat iron.
Finer tip for most applications.
Take time, don't blob.
When soldering to pots use a dab of flux
on pot. Most of your grounds go there
and it is hard to solder there without it.

Practice with 2 pieces of wire. Solder and
then wait and then unsolder. Try solder to
speaker type connector also.

Have fun

Attachments

• F8AB8054-620C-405B-9645-5757726BB372.jpeg
    F8AB8054-620C-405B-9645-5757726BB372.jpeg
    201.7 KB · Views: 16

Boreas

Poster Extraordinaire
You don't need a guitar to learn how to solder guitar stuff - just some old parts, caps, switches, etc.. You should use lead solder. I prefer a chisel tip because of its heat capacity, but probably more people use points.