1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Learning the fretboard

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by schmintan, Jul 23, 2016.

1. schmintan

schmintan Tele-Meister

Im getting very frustrated musically lately. Im making a real effort to get at least an hour in per day to practice.

I structure my learning so that im not just rambling about not getting anywhere. Even so, im actually not getting very far.

My practice is:
    10 mins of running through CAGED shapes with a metronome. This is to warm up my fingers, work on timing & work on remembering the caged positions.

15-20 mins of travis picking practice.

15 mins of improv over a backing track.

10-15 mins of playing new licks from youtube vids.

I have years of guitar (blues mainly) behind me so im not a beginner, and have been following the above routine for a few months now, but im still as wooden as can be when doing lead, particularly country lead.

To try and remedy this i signed up to CountryGuitarChops by Ken Karslon. Hes a pro for sure, and although i learn a lick or two, it all seems to just be tabs & a walkthrough of what his lead guitar is, so im not sure if that works for me. More likely is there is nothing wrong with his lessons and I just dont know the fretboard well enough to make full use of them. I can figure out what position i am in but it takes me a few seconds.

My question is:
    You guys who are fluid and fluent in country lead, did you sit down and purposefully learn the fretboard or is it all muscle memory with no theory behind it, i.e. did you just learn a ton of songs and eventually it came together?

Tazz3 likes this.
  2. moosie

moosie Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter