Learning Pedal Steel

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by flyingnorth, Jun 20, 2016.

1. flyingnorth

flyingnorth Tele-Meister

I've been playing guitar since I was nine years old. I'm 74 and still gig once a week. Im seriously considering buying a pedal steel and jumping in. Anyone out there have sugguestions on lessons, buying a pedal steel etc...?

2. 4 Cat Slim

4 Cat Slim Friend of Leo's

I'd say to do it.
    I don't have any advice on buying one, other than to try and find a music store where lessons are offered and maybe they can steer you to any PSGs for sale.
    It's a good thing that you are playing with somebody, so you'll have a group to work with and work on what you learn.
    When I tried to learn a number of years ago, I wasn't playing with anybody regularly, so it was difficult to work on my timing. Good luck!

flyingnorth likes this.
  3. jeb512

jeb512 TDPRI Member

www.mullenguitars.com

I play a Mullen Steel and these are some of the best ones made today. If you are starting out you'll want one that plays well so you can concentrate on learning the instrument rather than fighting issues an older, poorly maintained steel may have.

flyingnorth likes this.
  4. scrapyardblue

scrapyardblue Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

Ouch! Just looked at the prices on those Mullens. Not an instrument you'd take up lightly.

5. John Owen

John Owen Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

Unless you really know what you are looking at, buying a used one would be a crap shoot (with the odds heavily weighted to the house).

There is a GREAT entry level steel called Stage One that you can get brand new for about $1000. You'd have a hard time finding a used one worth having for less than that. The guy that makes them is a great guy and very helpful. Here's a link:http://www.stageonesteelguitars.com/