Laptop Advice

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by Erebus, Dec 2, 2019.

1. Erebus

Erebus Tele-Meister

Hi all... I’m a complete beginner when it comes to home recording. I use a Yamaha THX 10C into a USB port on my 10 year old laptop when I’m just messing around, but completely unhappy with the sound. I want to get a mic and record my tube amps.

My laptop just died and needs to be replaced for the work I do... basically just word processing. But I would love to have the capability to run decent software for recording. What specs should I look for?

Thank you!

2. Bartholomew3

Bartholomew3 Friend of Leo's

IMO fastest drive speed is important @ approx 7,200 RPM if that's possible on a laptop or maybe get one with an SSD plus you will need an interface for the mike. Probably any decent laptop out there these days will get the job done for you just recording a couple of guitars so maybe ignore what I just said.

I'm recording direct with a Roland Cube 60 COSM clean on one side of a stereo setup, mike a tube amp for the main sound other side and it makes a huge difference.

Am going through a Focusrite 2i4 interface - LHS, RHS then mix the two sounds. I'm using an old Compaq with Vista that is configured not to update and is not connected to the internet so Microsoft can't pollute my clean recording system with updates. Stopping updates was a huge problem solved but you probably can't do that with more modern systems.

Have to say that configuring the PC properly for Mixcraft and Focusrite was pretty technical and it then took me a lot of time to get the sound right. Didn't really happen until I split through a Boss Chorus pedal to feed into each amp stereo.

3. Hey_you

Hey_you TDPRI Member

make sure it has a decent amount of ram. 16 or better

4. Whatizitman

Whatizitman Friend of Leo's