1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Lap Steel guitar question from noob.

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by sunshy, Feb 21, 2014.

1. sunshy

sunshy TDPRI Member

Yo! I just started playing a lap steel. Fun stuff! :D But I can't really get the sound out of it that I want. :confused: I'm writing modern country songs (basically rock/pop songs) and would like to just add little chord swoops in at chord changes like in Jason Aldean's "Big Green Tractor" (see video below).

I'm using a C6th tuning, which I know is often used in older, country-western music. Should I be using a different tuning? If so, which one? Or should I learn "slants." Let me know a good place to start playing along with typical guitar chords.

2. MrTwang

MrTwang Friend of Leo's

C6 (or A6) is, as you say, the sound of old style country but it can be used for a lot more than that. One of the things I love about the 6th tuning is that you can get both major (using the e, c and g strings on C6) and minor (using the e c and a strings) chords without using slants. As long as you are selective about which strings you pick with your right hand you can avoid playing the 6th note when you are playing a major chord which will give you that Hawaiian or old time country sound that might not be right for the song. Practice playing different groups of 3 notes to make a major chord (avoiding the a string) and then the same for minor chords (avoiding the g string).

The other thing to remember about steel is that the "sliding into chords" thing can often work using only 2 notes of the chord (other guys in the band will be playing the missing note in the chord anyway).