1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Lacquer not checking

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by klobasa, Feb 24, 2021.

1. klobasa

klobasa Tele-Holic

Hi, any ideas why does the lacquer on my body not check? I used Boston brand nitro, they advertise that it yellows, cracks and checks. I have left the body outside in -15C for hours, took it inside and heated it in oven, back to outside for hours...multiple times. I also tried the hair dryer + compressed air method multiple times. I have been doing these rapid temperature changes now for two days...and the body has zero checking.

Thanks in advance.

2. Mouth

Mouth Tele-Afflicted

I'm no expert, but my guess is it hasn't cured.

How long ago did you spray it?

Mr.Ike likes this.
  3. klobasa

klobasa Tele-Holic

I was thinking that too... I sprayed it a month ago. It passes the smell test, though.

3 coats of primer, 3 color, 5 clear.

Rjelecaster likes this.
  4. Sea Devil

Sea Devil Friend of Leo's

Lacquer doesn't "cure," it just dries. Still, you can wait a while and try again; you'll probably get the same result. Those are really extreme temperature changes and would normally be expected to cause checking and crackling. I guess you just did too good a job1

Asmith, JuneauMike and Mouth like this.
  5. schmee

schmee Doctor of Teleocity

There are a lot of things called "Lacquer"... are you sure yours is really Nitrocellulose lacquer?

6. klobasa

klobasa Tele-Holic

Yes, it's nitrocellulose lacquer.

Attached Files:

7. Fender-guy

Fender-guy Tele-Holic

It takes months to fully harden. Most companies spraying nitro will have them in some sort of sealed room to speed up the cure time. I know from experience using spray cans of nitro it took about 3 months to fully cure.

8. BerkshireDuncan

BerkshireDuncan Tele-Meister