Klon without losing an arm & a leg?

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by JohnnyCrash, Mar 8, 2015.

1. JohnnyCrash

JohnnyCrash Doctor of Teleocity Gold Supporter

I don't mind building my own Klon clone, but I can't find any kits.

$2,000 for an original Klon is f@#%ing insane. No. It's insulting.

Any kits or even assembled clones you guys can recommend (EH Soul Food apparently used plastic shafted pots, so forget that one)?

2. ICTRock

ICTRock Tele-Afflicted

Mammoth electronics might have some grindcustomsfx chimaera kits left. Those are klon kits. If you want a PCB to start from, hit up aion electronics

3. cousinpaul

cousinpaul Friend of Leo's

Although I've read that it's been discontinued, the BYPC Silver Pony is a very nice pedal if you can find one. GG also has a kit out but I have no first-hand experience with it.

4. Jubal81

Jubal81 Tele-Meister

Chimaera is phased out. There's a new and improved version coming pretty soon. Codename Tusk.

Also, I much prefer the Silver Pony values. Much more open sounding.

5. mustachio

mustachio TDPRI Member

I bought the Archer. I've had a Silver Klon, KTR, and Klone. Archer is EXACTLY like an original. Except it has a DC negative tip in, which is convenient. Plus, it's a small foot print. I used it for humbuckers and my Nash T-52 overdrive tone is with a Hand Wired Tube Screamer. Found the Tube Screamer in the used section of Guitar Center online for $150. The Archer sounds good with the Nash but it's smoother than the Tube Screamer.

Get the Archer. You won't be disappointed.

6. Mike Simpson

Mike Simpson Doctor of Teleocity

I been gigging with a soul food for a while... never looked at the shafts on the pots... I just stuck velcro on the bottom and put it on the board. Lots of gigs and a CD... I never woulda known the pot shafts were plastic. :D