KLD Amp kits?

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Binx, Sep 10, 2019.

1. Binx

Binx Tele-Meister

Hi all, I'm new to this part of the forum. I saw a review of a KLD 5e3 kit, and my DIY GAS started up again! I have done pedals, but never amps and these seemed like a hold your hand kind of way to try it out. Not able to find a whole ton on them review wise and such.
    There are two models I am looking at, the mojo 25r (I think it is the same as the mojo 12hr they used to do) and the Pilot 15. I was hoping that someone who knows better than me could tell me the major differences based on the schematics, or which amp each is modeled after. Both are 6l6 amps based on vintage fenders.
    Here are the Ebay links, which have a picture of the schematics:

mojo 25r - https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https://www.ebay.com/ulk/itm/273889770338

Pilot 15 - https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https://www.ebay.com/ulk/itm/273936213607

Chunkocaster likes this.
  2. Chunkocaster

Chunkocaster Poster Extraordinaire

I've seen decent deals from them on ebay recently but I purchased a bunch of tolex and marshall style grill cloth from them last year and they didn't bother posting it or letting me know so I'm hesitant in ordering anything from them again.

3. bettyseldest

bettyseldest Friend of Leo's

I don't know about the kits, I missed the Pilot 15 heads when they were selling at about £130 on ebay, but picked up a lightly used one for £85 a couple of years ago. I bought a new hand wired PVA18 (Marshall 18W inspired) head direct from the importer for £170 a couple of months later. I don't know which Fender amp it sounds like, I tend to play it clean.

upload_2019-9-10_20-46-47.png upload_2019-9-10_20-47-17.png

Here is the Pilot 15 schematic;

upload_2019-9-10_20-42-33.png
    and the PVA18;

upload_2019-9-10_20-43-24.png

Hbom likes this.
  4. Binx

Binx Tele-Meister