1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Katana 50 or cheaper tube amp?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by ecole96, Jul 27, 2019.

Which amp?

1. Katana 50

10 vote(s)
    62.5%
  2. Tube

6 vote(s)
    37.5%
  1. ecole96

ecole96 TDPRI Member

I've been using a Mustang 1 V2 for nearly two years now and I'm not a huge fan of it - sounds okay but it's not all that user-friendly (I prefer to be working with tone knobs, not presets), so I'm looking to upgrade. I was initially pretty set on a tube amp, but it seems like everywhere I go online the Katana series are fawned over. I'm liking what I see from it (the 50 in particular) - the price, versatility, ability to use as an interface (I'm enough of a noob with recording to struggle with getting a good tone direct into my interface with DAW effects), control (seems to be less preset-based than the Mustang), and supposed pedal friendliness, but I'm also concerned as a lower-budget modeling amp it won't feel like much of an upgrade from my Mustang.

If I was gigging I'd go for a tube (probably used), but I don't gig - like 90% of my playing is at home and the other 10% is jamming with friends, once in a while with a drummer. To complicate matters I'm likely moving into an apartment in a few months, so volume may be an issue. It's also a little harder on my wallet and it'd likely necessitate a few more pedals that would be built-in on the Katana. I've looked into several lower-end tubes - Blues Jr, Marshall DSL5CR, Blackstar HT5R, Peavey Classic 30, Egnater Tweaker, and Bugera V22. The Bugera seems to be the most full-featured for the least price, so I'd lean a little harder over that than the others.

I'm leaning Katana, but having never owned a tube amp before, it's hard to shake that curiosity. Thoughts?

Last edited: Jul 27, 2019