Just how hardheaded am I? (gonna buy a power planer)

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by mchet, Apr 17, 2009.

  1. mchet

    mchet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Kingston, PA
    I am going to purchase a power planer tonight.

    I hate to waste those pine blanks, but the manual planer and I do not get along. So I am going to get a power one.

    The pine has many unavoidable knots. Any suggestions, warnings, encouragement, before I let 'er rip?:twisted:
     
  2. jkingma

    jkingma Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    12,324
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Location:
    44°55'09.9"N 79°25'39.1"W
    Admin Post
    Buy a thickness sander instead. ;)
     
  3. edd677

    edd677 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    311
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Location:
    Ontario
    x2 those things are great
     
  4. mchet

    mchet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Kingston, PA
    Thickness sander = to much money...

    I don't own a drill press, yet, so getting the robo-sander setup is a waste of money.

    I know, well I hope anyway, that a belt sander will knock it down but I hate to waste money if it will just dent the problem not fix it.
     
  5. mchet

    mchet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Kingston, PA
    $40-$60 for budget belt sanders. Thinkness sanders, even those you build cost much more, well at least half as much...
     
  6. mchet

    mchet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Kingston, PA
    Dang it!!! Good advise is costly!!!
     
  7. Jack Wells

    Jack Wells Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,423
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    Albuquerque, USA
    The Ridgid thickness planer ($369) is probably the best buy out there. It has a 13 in. width capacity. Many are only 12 1/2 in. Not good for a Telecaster body which is around 12 3/4 in.

    ......[​IMG]


    Hmmm............ by power planer I hope you aren't talking about a hand held power planer.

    ...... [​IMG]

    That would be a big mistake.
     
  8. Mightyaxeman

    Mightyaxeman Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,739
    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Maybe a jointer is what your looking for?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. mchet

    mchet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Kingston, PA


    Yeah, that is what I was thinking of...

    There is a planer similar to the Ridgid over at the local pawn shop, actually 2, for between $50 - $150.
     
  10. Jack Wells

    Jack Wells Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,423
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    Albuquerque, USA
    It would help if we distinguished "power planer" and "thickness planer" ............. very different tools intended for different purposes.
     
  11. mchet

    mchet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Kingston, PA
    Please feel free to educate... I only have a palm sander at this point. I know a planer would be best, but money is tight so I have to find other ways. Harbor freight has a hand planer for $30-$40. Lowes or home depot have belt sanders for $60 and under (+ tax of course)

    What SHOULD I be using?
     
  12. mchet

    mchet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Kingston, PA
    Maybe an inventory of tools, not that there are that many...

    I have a B&D work bench, cheapest available, an old dresser about 4'L x 2.5' W, a hand planer (which I really suck with), a palm sander, and a 2nd hand Makita 3606 router. I also have a B&D Dremel knockoff, a B&D Jigsaw/Scrolsaw and a B&D cordless drill ( I have a corded drill somewhere but have not used it in years).

    Also the odd assorted handtools most people accumulate in a life.
     
  13. Jack Wells

    Jack Wells Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,423
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    Albuquerque, USA
    If a thickness planer isn't in you budget at this time I suggest you look for a local custom cabinet shop. They would probably run your body blank through the thickness planer for a small fee.

    Here's another option. Look at Scatter Lee's thread on his jigs. He uses a router with straight bit to thickness plane his blanks. Very ingenious.
     
  14. mchet

    mchet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Kingston, PA
    Small town, surrounded by small towns. Only one place left within 50 miles that does that kind of work and I can seem to nail them down on when they are open.
     
  15. Jack Wells

    Jack Wells Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,423
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    Albuquerque, USA
  16. mchet

    mchet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Kingston, PA
    Got SL's jig thread subscribed. I will look closer at it. I was looking at the jig he made for radiusing necks. I was having a hard time figuring out the jig for using the router as a planer.

    What about the knots? Should I avoid them with the router using it this way?
     
  17. mchet

    mchet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Kingston, PA
    THANKS J!!!!

    I hate to give up on the pine:neutral:
     
  18. Jack Wells

    Jack Wells Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,423
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    Albuquerque, USA
    Basically it is two equal height rails that are just a little higher the the wood you need to plane. You need a way to secure the body or blank to the base. He uses a screw through a string through hole and probably through a neck mount hole. He does half the body then moves the string through screw to a hole on the planed side.

    The router mounted on the board is free to move side to side ........ forward and backward. You just need to make sure the board doesn't slip off the rails.
     
  19. mchet

    mchet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Kingston, PA
    So 2 19" long 2 1/4" wide board, of some kind, topped by the split PCV tube. How about 3/4" MDF? Can make a base board with the 2 1/4" high slats attach (maybe glued and screwed together)... I think I have the idea...

    Thanks A LOT!!!

    Gotta remember to thank Scatter for his sharing all this stuff!
     
  20. mchet

    mchet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Kingston, PA
    maybe I should drill out the knots and dole them...
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.