1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Just got the Tone Print Editor from TC Electronics

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by billmag, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. billmag

    billmag TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Location:
    So Cal - South County OC
    Check your email if you signed up for this - Tone Print Editor. I downloaded it but have not gotten the chance to play with it yet. There's a FAQ/Knowledgebase link attached to it regarding the editor as well.
     
  2. jondanger

    jondanger Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    6,184
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Location:
    Charm City, MD
    Exciting! I've been looking forward to this coming out. I just have a HOF. I know what I'll be doing after baby bedtime.
     
  3. gwjensen

    gwjensen Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    3,483
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    District of Chicanery
    Great! I was just looking for this Monday and it wasn't out yet. Thanks for the heads up.
     
  4. LongLiveRock54

    LongLiveRock54 Tele-Holic

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    OK, I downloaded it and all I got was what looks like a screenshot of the editor. This is the same for both my MAC and PC. What gives?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. asatbender

    asatbender Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,024
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Location:
    Calhoun, GA
    EP-3 Delay

    My favorite toneprint is the PGS toneprint of the EP-3 delay. My only complaint is that the repeats distort too easily. Wonder if I could modify that tone print to make it less sensitive to distorting?
     
  6. LongLiveRock54

    LongLiveRock54 Tele-Holic

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ok, found out I needed a pedal Firmware update before the pedal would get recognized.
     
  7. bluebirdrad

    bluebirdrad Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    338
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Location:
    St Augustine, Fl
    You can't modify that toneprint specifically. You have to create one from scratch. You will be able to create a toneprint that has the same characteristics but with less "saturation " , you'll just have to figure it out yourself. I've been using the beta and once you get the hang of it, it works really well.
     
  8. gwjensen

    gwjensen Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    3,483
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    District of Chicanery
    me too.
     
  9. jondanger

    jondanger Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    6,184
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Location:
    Charm City, MD
    Me three. It says to plug in my pedal, but I can't get the PC to recognize it, nor can I update the firmware. Hmmm . . .
     
  10. ruger9

    ruger9 Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    6,710
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    Hackettstown, NJ
    Can't help you guys with the not being able to update the firmware, that's the 1st I've heard of that.

    But the editor, while working on most machines, doesn't seem to work on all of them.

    And, it still has it's shortcomings:
    -you still can't save your toneprints to the computer
    -you still can't load/edit and existing toneprint

    ...and it still has bugs. I'm hoping TC offers the full package sometime in the future. Because as it is, while it's nice to have and I did use it to create 7 of my own TPs for my FBX4, w/o the ability to edit or save toneprints I think it's limited enough to NOT be a selling point for TC.
     
  11. PineBomb

    PineBomb Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    828
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    NY, NY
    Yeah, as soon as I learned that you couldn't save TP edits, I walked away. Until TC finishes the job, I'm not wasting my time on this novelty.

    Sent from my iPhone using TDPRI
     
  12. Lizard

    Lizard Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Location:
    Left of the Dial
    Agreed, Pinebomb. If I can't save what I create it's totally useless.
     
  13. xtrajerry

    xtrajerry Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    10,827
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    I've got the HOF and not getting all the tone print love.. The release of a non functional toneprint editor is lame at least..
     
  14. ruger9

    ruger9 Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    6,710
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    Hackettstown, NJ
    To be CLEAR... you CAN save toneprints TO THE PEDAL, which is the primary mission OF COURSE. I have SEVEN of MY toneprints saved to my X4.

    Hardly useless.
     
  15. gwjensen

    gwjensen Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    3,483
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    District of Chicanery
    Looks like TC screwed up. They shouldn't have announced anything until it was 100% good to go. Kinda sours me on 'em.
     
  16. artdecade

    artdecade Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,676
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Location:
    Boggo Road
    Releasing something before its ready?

    Nah - they would never do that. This isn't the company that released the Nova Delay with a faulty buffer... then released a more expensive version, called the iB Modified, rather than fixing the problem. Nah, they would never do that. :lol:
     
  17. Setyaback

    Setyaback Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    607
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Location:
    noiseland
    If you have a FBx4 where you can save multiple toneprints, the editor is a cool feature. But I've got the single FB, can only save one. I'm not even going to dowbload the app and start tinkering until they figure out a way to save the tp's on your hard drive. It'd just be more frustration than anything else at this point.
     
  18. bluebirdrad

    bluebirdrad Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    338
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Location:
    St Augustine, Fl
    You can design a toneprint with two or three different delay types by assigning the parameters to work differently on each side of the control knob. It's fun to try and figure it out -- indulge your inner geek. . I have mine setup like this: both knobs 3:00 modulated analog; both knobs at 9:00 tape echo with slight warble; delay 9:00, feedback 3:00 analog no modulation. I like my settings better than the default for these, but I really like the dynamic and the lofi models on the FB so I now have many useable options on that little pedal. If you think this is useless then you probably haven't tried to use it. I have been using the beta and I would also like to see those features added and have given TC E my feedback. I think they will come in the future. I actually have a X4 but I'm going to sell it now because the little FB will do everything I need.
     
  19. LaBamba

    LaBamba TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon
    i don't understand you guys, a year ago TC was the coolest thing, now they're trying to give you back control of the pedals you bought from them and all you do is complain.
     
  20. ruger9

    ruger9 Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    6,710
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    Hackettstown, NJ
    Bingo.

    I'll admit it's not perfect, but STILL... it's the power to design your own toneprint, or seven of them if you have the X4.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.