Just Arrived from the northern south.

Doghammer

NEW MEMBER!
My name is Tony and I'm just joining this forum. Been playing with guitars since I was 12. Started on an old '59 Silvertone with a Kay 503 amp. I still have them. Now I own a mess of guitars. Not because I'm a great player (Believe me, I'm not!) I do, however enjoy guitars and really love doing modest work on them. (I also am not a luthier. I have been an electrician for more years than I can remember. (Not saying much, I can't remember what I was doing 20 minutes ago.) Anyway this forum thing is new for me. I do have a question that I will put in a post later. I have three Tele style guitars. I have a Parts-caster tele that I built from a Squier body I found on Ebay and a Fender Telecaster 22 fret roasted maple neck I also got on Ebay. I also have a Chinese copy Tele. I loved the Tequila Sunrise finish on the Chinese guitar and it was cheeeeep. I replaced all of the hardware with authentic Fender hardware. The mounting holes were slightly off so they had to be filled and re-drilled. I also put an official Fender pearloid pickguard on the guitar. My third Tele is a "Stinger": a guitar made in Asia for Martin back in the seventies when someone up there in Nazareth thought Martin should try to expand into the electric guitar business. It has a single coil at the neck and a humbucker in the bridge position. At one time there was a coil-split switch to switch the Humbucker into single coil operation. The Stinger also has a floating Strat style bridge. Definitely an interesting guitar. All three guitars are really enjoyable to play. I bought the Squier body because its red "Antique Burst" closely resembled the finish of the same name on my 89 Fender American Deluxe Plus Stratocaster. So I have a Strat and Tele that look like cousins of the same mother ... or something like that. That's all to my Fender Collection. I did have a Jaguar that I just never enjoyed playing. (Somebody got a great deal on that guitar