Just about finished my Squier Bullet

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by FenderGyrl, May 19, 2019.

1. FenderGyrl

FenderGyrl Friend of Leo's

I pretty much finished up modding my Squire Bullet. Its been a fun project. I wanted to not get carried away cost wise. However, I did want to make a Tele that was different from my other guitars. I decided to go for a Texas Blues sound.

I thought about doing the Bubba Mod to this one. I have some barrell saddles and did a Bubba Mod on my Squire Affinity BSB. While looking thru my parts box I found some brass saddles that I've had since the 90's. They were the right size, so I went with them. I found some decent Squire tuners in my parts box. I also had the marble pickguard which lined up without any additional work.

I played this guitar for a week before I broke it down. Sure wish that you could get a decent guitar like this one for little cash when I started playing as a youngun. Wow..

I sanded the back of the neck smooth. I put a Fender logo on the headstock.
    I replaced the nut with a Tusk Graphite. I did a fret level. I put a drop off on the upper frets.

I ordered some Tele Texas Blues PUPS from DragonFire. $50.
    I did rewire the guitar with some CTS audio and linear taper pots. Added a Bumble Bee cap and a new switch. I did my final set up on it yesterday. Have it set to Fender factory specs. I have a new string tree to put on it...a barrel style one.

So,
    I have $130 guitar cost- $50 Pickup Cost -$20 Electronics:
    $200 invested out of pocket. Not including cost of parts I already had. Worked on it for the last few weekends. I have a Red Sparkle one on back order from G.C.
    Thinking that I might mod that one with a Hip Shot set up that Ive had for a few years.

20190519_161820.jpg 20190519_161840.jpg 20190519_161939.jpg 20190519_161954.jpg

Last edited: May 19, 2019
  2. Deeve

Deeve Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter