1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Job Searching in Your 50's

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by ElJay370, Mar 7, 2021.

1. ElJay370

ElJay370 Tele-Afflicted

I've been working at the same place for the past 18 years, and it's beyond time to move on. I'm concerned that my lack of work history and my age (which isn't supposed to matter..but let's not kid ourselves) will both be stumbling blocks.

Any tips?

Chiogtr4x and uriah1 like this.
  2. Oldsmobum

Oldsmobum Tele-Holic

If you have a particular skill set that is in demand, loyalty to your old company and age won’t matter. In my industry, they are trying to keep guys into their 70’s because young people interested in the field are getting harder to come by.

If anything, your history at your employer is a plus... In 18 years, they’ve never had to fire you.

Phildog and String Tree like this.
  3. The Angle

The Angle Tele-Holic

Keep your current job until you find another to replace it. If you're unemployed, you automatically go to the back of the line for new positions, and you stay there. The longer you're there, the worse it becomes.

You don't say what industry you're in, but in my line of work (writing/editing in the entertainment industry), old-school job hunting methods like sending out resumes and responding to job listings are almost useless. It's all about networking and leveraging your ties to other people to find openings and get referrals from inside the company where you want to get hired.

tubedood, SRHmusic, Milspec and 3 others like this.
  4. Chester P Squier

Chester P Squier Tele-Meister

At age 55 I went back to school to reinvent myself. Got a degree two years later and got a job in a new profession, where I worked for 11 years.