JBL D120 , in a princeton?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by racehorse, Mar 21, 2004.

1. racehorse

racehorse Tele-Meister

what do you think? anyone tried it?
    It Is basicly a clean amp anyway. may have to nail the amp to the floor though.

Thanks racehorse

2. Pierce

Pierce Tele-Holic

might be a tight fit

you might have to spin the speaker to get it to clear.
    a 12 in a princeton is a good thing..

3. Tremo

Tremo Banned

If the speaker hole is offset a bit it should fit. I heard a Princeton Reverb with a JBL D110 and it sounded real nice for clean stuff.

4. Phil

Phil Tele-Meister

Yep

I've been using one for about 5 months now. It sounds great. Sparkly clean and overdrives beautifully with the volume above 6 or with pedals. I used a Rogers baffle and didn't have any problem getting it in. Recommended highly.
    Phil

5. racehorse

racehorse Tele-Meister

thanks

for the replys, If I pick one up I`ll give y`all a report
    Do you know the sensitivity of a d120?
    thanks

6. jeffreyk51

jeffreyk51 TDPRI Member

Princeton with 12" speaker

I have a 65' Princeton Reverb with a Rodgers 12" baffle board and a Celestion Blue. I strongly suggest a Celestion Blue instead of a JBL. The Blue is rated 15 Watts and the amp is 17 Watts. I can gig with this amp and keep the volume at 4-5 and still keep it clean. The Blue is very sensitave and responds to your touch. It can be overdriven by just about any good pedal. Highly recommended.

Jeff :lol:

7. Tremo

Tremo Banned

Celestion blue alnicos are indeed excellent speakers. The Weber Blue Dog is very similar for a lot less money.

Regardless, a JBL is a different animal entirely, and should not be dismissed out of hand, if you're looking for what a JBL does.

8. TY

TY Tele-Meister

Yes it is doable:

http://www.villagephotos.com/viewpubimage.asp?id_=1257426

It's a tight fit but sounds wonderful. It is my #1 amp, plenty of guts for unmiked gigs. BTW, it's a mint greyfame D120F.