1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Jazzmaster vintage trem upgrade

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by pypa, Apr 19, 2021.

1. pypa

pypa Tele-Meister Ad Free Member

I have a Jazzmaster body that's pre-routed for a vintage trem. Does anyone have opinions on a good alternative to that trem in the same price range? Am not averse to re-routing the pocket.

Any words of advice/experience welcome.

2. SixStringSlinger

SixStringSlinger Friend of Leo's

I suppose that depends on what you'd consider an upgrade. What's your beef with the original?

Fretting out likes this.
  3. J. Bonkosky

J. Bonkosky Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

The vibrato tailpiece or the bridge? The American fender made tailpiece is as good or better than anything else on the market. The bridge is a fine unit when setup correctly. Some people like the mustang bridge or the mastery bridge. I have used both but prefer the sound of the stock unit.

4. BorderRadio

BorderRadio Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

If I understand this correctly, you don’t want a “Floating Tremolo”/offset trem?

There’s a Bigsby plate adapter, but I don’t think a B5 Bigsby is an upgrade from the offset trem. Besides, B5s are hard to find, with crazy prices. There’s the two big upgrades to the AV gold standard, but out the budget. I’d get a Fender Panorama unit but that comes with an ‘annoying’ guitar I’d have to flip :)

Boreas likes this.
  5. pypa

I have the body, it is pre-routed for the Vintage tremolo, but I have not yet purchased the tremolo or the bridge. I have read that it isn't great for tuning stability. I am not averse to just going with the Vintage, but I thought i'd ask for experience before doing that. To be clear, I have no personal beef vs. the Vintage trem but have never used one.

Boreas likes this.