It’s not Leo’s fault, but . . . .

telemnemonics

Telefied
Ad Free Member
I found that too and it helps to lower them or even just lower the middle pickup.
Robbie Robertson solved it by having a guard made with the middle pickup next to the bridge pickup.
Or get a flat pole/ flush pole middle pickup.

Chiogtr4x

Doctor of Teleocity
Silver Supporter
The middle pickup is right where I pick. I hit it constantly. I guess this is what happens when you’ve played two-pickup guitars all your life. I do love all the great Strat sounds. A Mustang just wouldn’t be the same.

Folks have 'strumming location issues' with either this, or the placement of a Stratocaster Volume knob, being in the way...

Must be a personal ergonomics thing- where a player picks/strums.
I've been playing Stratocasters since 1991 and these issues just never came up.
Not that I don't move my right hand around, but I pick mainly above or below that middle pickup

Ziggy587

Tele-Meister
I lowered the middle pickup in my Strat and played like that for years. I have a "neck on" push/pull so I can get the bridge+neck pickup position, and that was my go-to. It works in regards to not hitting the middle pickup when I strum, but then I don't get the same sound out of it so I'd end up never using it. Once I got a proper Tele again, I decided to raise the middle pickup on my Strat so it's balanced with the other two. It was very annoying at first, but I forced myself to get use to it for the sake of those Strat tones that a Tele can't get. After all, that middle pickup is a big reason to reach for the Strat over the Tele.

Quexoz

Tele-Meister
Good thing for me, I just don't care for the sound of a Strat at all. I like the comfy body shape, but hate the third pup position, and the knob positions, and the tremolo/tuning, and the 25.5 scale. The only Strat I ever had was a little "super Strat" and I had to remove the volume knob.