Is your telecaster harsh?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Singles Forever, Feb 15, 2019.

1. Singles Forever

Singles Forever TDPRI Member

I've been a strat guy for a while and I'm new to the Telecaster but loving it. How many people find their Telecaster harsh on the bridge pickup, with overdrive or gain, on the high E string on bends?

It's just something that happens because the bridge pickup is so damn close to the bridge? Or because it's surrounded by metal?

I'm partially concerned because I'm afraid it may be because of the callaham bridge I just installed.

rjp68 likes this.
  2. TheMindful

TheMindful Tele-Meister

Learning how to work with the natural idiosyncrasies of the Telecaster involves its brightness. It can sound great or terrible depending in whose hands the axe is in.

If I'm not conscious of the treble and I dig in at certain frequencies then sure, it can be harsh. Sometimes I want it to be harsh. Try playing with softer attack in the registers you feel are too harsh for your natural tendencies and see if you can overall balance it with touch.

rjp68, FrontPU and Singles Forever like this.
  3. DrPepper

DrPepper Tele-Afflicted

All volume and tone settings?

rjp68, bcorig, FrontPU and 1 other person like this.
  4. MrGibbly

MrGibbly Tele-Afflicted

I don’t find mine to be harsh after several years of getting to know each other. I’ve leaned the bridge pickup away from the treble side just a hair, figured out where the treble knob on my amp needs to be when I have the tone knob wide open, etc. I actually find the typical bridge pickup on a Tele to be a nice sturdy/robust tone compared to the average Strat bridge. I’ve had a couple of Strats, and I’m sure I’ll have more, because they “do a thing” that I like, too. :)

5. MrGibbly

MrGibbly Tele-Afflicted

Great point. I notice I can vary the amount of bite a lot by picking location and angle of attack.

TheMindful likes this.
  6. Controller