1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Is this fake? Thank you for your help!

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by LBON, Jun 24, 2017.

1. LBON

LBON TDPRI Member

Hi everybody, a month ago I bought this tele´78. The serial number match with the year 1978 but yesterday I took the neck for calibration and I found another the date printed on the base 3 25 82. Also the jack is different than most teles. Is it fake? All the guitar looks very original to me and it sounds great but my question if this will be a problem in the future if I need to sell it. Thank you! Best

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 24, 2017
    shupe13 and 2 Headed Goat like this.
  2. The Ballzz

The Ballzz Tele-Afflicted

I'm not an expert (they will be along shortly), but from what I'm seeing, it looks OK. Not sure about double string trees for that year/model and it's too bad a previous owner "upgraded" the jack mounting in that manner, oh well. Closer pics of the bridge may help determine if you may be able to eliminate those shims with a proper setup. If you can, you'd be miles ahead or re-shim it the "right way" with these:

http://www.stewmac.com/Materials_an...itar_Necks/StewMac_Neck_Shims_for_Guitar.html

As far as the number on the neck heel, I believe that in some years it was not a date, but a pic of the flat of the heel would be helpful!

Nice Color & I Think It's Not A Fake!
    Gene

LBON likes this.
  3. bluenote23

bluenote23 Tele-Meister

LBON likes this.
  4. soulman969

soulman969 Telefied Ad Free Member

The guitar looks real. The neck could have been replaced after the fact which would explain it's dating and also the need for the shims. I don't see anything obvious the screams "fake".

LBON likes this.
  5. LBON

LBON TDPRI Member