Is the new vintera modified telecaster pretty much a Baja Tele with a new name ?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Owenmoney, Jul 16, 2019.

1. Owenmoney

Owenmoney Tele-Afflicted

I’ve heard fender discontinued the Baja Tele and then I’m hearing the Vintera Modified Tele specs and it sounds like it’s almost identical except for price ? Is that the case ? I love my two Bajas, and hope they really aren’t discontinued, just changing name and price, of course if I want more I can always look used.. just curious ?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

2. unixfish

unixfish Poster Extraordinaire

I have no direct experience here, but that seems to be the case.

The Vintera 50's Modified seems to be a 50's Baja in new colors and a satin finish on the nect.

The Vintera 60's Modified seems to be a 60's Baja, new colors, slightly slimmer neck, a satin finish neck, and maybe different pickups?

Bajas with slight updates if you ask me.

3. John C

John C Friend of Leo's

Agree with unixfish: Similar, with a few different specs - specifically they have satin finished necks now instead of gloss finished (on the 50s the fingerboard is gloss and the back is satin).

It seems like the 60s has more changes than the 50s with the different pickups. Fender is calling the neck the "modern C" on the spec sheet instead of the "thick C" of the old 60s Baja - but the ones that have shown up at dealers who measure the necks show them as being a tad thicker than the typical modern C. Of course that could be luck of the draw as Fender necks do vary.

Skydog1010, RadioFM74 and Owenmoney like this.
  4. G.Rotten

G.Rotten Tele-Holic

I talked to the owner at my local shop & the Vintera fills the space left by the Baja but isn't quite the same. The Baja has a custom neck shape & the Vintera a 60's. Close but different. The Baja has US pups, the Vintera has "Newly designed" pups that capture the essence of each period.

Owenmoney likes this.
  5. Owenmoney